hidden hit counter
HomeAthleticsMubssina Mohammed puts Lakshwadeep on National Athletics map with Long Jump gold...

Mubssina Mohammed puts Lakshwadeep on National Athletics map with Long Jump gold « Athletics Federation of India

AFI Media

Bhopal, September 18: Ashakiran Barla (Jharkhand) rewrote the only meet record on the 17th National Youth Athletics Championships at the Tatya Tope Stadium here on Sunday, winning the girls 800m crown, but it was Lakshwadeep Long Jumper Mubssina Mohammed’s last-gasp winning leap of 5.90m that stole the thunder for herself and for the tiny Union Territory.

Mubssina Mohammed scripted a heady climax at the Long Jump pit, regaining her grip over the Gold medal that she had established with a 5.73m leap on the third try. The Tamil Nadu pair of N Lakshanya and Divyashree claimed the lead with 5.74m (fifth attempt) and 5.82 (last attempt) respectively. Yet, it was Mubssina Mohammed who came up with a winning effort.

The 16-year-old from Kavaratti wound herself up for the day’s longest jump after coach Ahmed Javed reminded her that he had won the Javelin Throw in the South Zone Championships in Tenhipalam last year off her last attempt. “I am glad I could repeat my personal best performance to win the first National level Athletics Gold for our islands,” she said.

Divyashree and Lakshanya drew some consolation for having attained the qualifying mark of 5.73m for the Continental event in Kuwait. The girls’ 400m podium finishers, Isha Rajesh Jadhav (Maharashtra), Anushka Dattatreya Kumbhar (Maharashtra) and Roshani Yadav (Uttar Pradesh) were the first trio to make the grade for the Asian Youth Championships

The day drew to a close with the boys’ Discus Throw trio of Atul (Haryana) , KS Servan (Kerala) and Aryan Malik (Haryana) also meeting the Asian Youth Championships qualifying standard, set at 54.93m..

Ashakiran Barla, a 15-year-old from Gumla, won the two-lapper comfortably, clocking 2:08.45 to shave 0.11 seconds off the mark set by Priscilla Daniel in 2019 and attain qualification for the Asian Youth Championships in Kuwait next month. Ashakiran Barla has a personal best of 2:06.78 and made it to the 800 semifinals of the World U20 Championships in Cali last month.

P Abhiram (Kerala) won the boys 400m in 48.56 seconds to secure qualification for the Kuwait event.

Ashlin Alexander (Kerala) and Sakshi Champalal Chavan (Maharashtra) emerged the fastest boy and girl of the Championships, winning the 100m crowns in 10.87 seconds and 12.22 seconds respectively. In the girls’ race, Neole Anna Kornelio (Karnataka) was in the lead at the halfway mark but pulled a thigh muscle and limped to the finish.

Late on Saturday evening, Uttar Pradesh Pole Vaulter: Kuldeep Kumar made a game bid to get the meet record of 4.91m but without success. His 4.80m clearance was good for him to secure qualification for the Asian Youth Championships.

The results (finals):

Boys 100m:1. Ashlin Alexander (Kerala) 10.87 seconds; 2. Dondapati Mrutyum Jayaram (Odisha) 10.91; 3. Almas Kabir (West Bengal) 10.92.

400m:1. P Abhiram (Kerala) 48.56 seconds; 2. Deepak Singh (Haryana) 49.15; 3. Abhay Singh (Madhya Pradesh) 49.30.

800m: 1. Bopanna Kalappa Thelapanda (Karnataka) 1:56.12; 2, Adarsh Kumar Maurya (Madhya Pradesh) 1:56.14; 3. Sunil Kumar (Haryana) 1:56.18.

Discus Throw: 1. Atul (Haryana) 57.44m; 2. KS Servan (Kerala) 56.81; 3. Aryan Malik (Haryana) 56.10.

Decathlon: 1. AS Arvind (Tamil Nadu) 5392 points (100m: 11.75; LJ: 5.63; SP: 11.51; HJ: 1.64; 400m: 55.10; 110mH: 15.47; DT: 37.65; PV: 2.70; JT: 37.32; 1500m: 5:26.77); 2. Adithya Krishna (Kerala) 5201; 3. Sachin (Haryana) 5124.

Girls U18

100m: 1. Sakshi Champalal Chavan (Maharashtra) 12.22 seconds; 2. S Megha (Kerala) 12.28; 3. B Srividya Bala Murali (Tamil Nadu) 12.48.

400m: 1. Isha Rajesh Jadhav (Maharashtra) 55.39 seconds; 2. Anushka Dattatreya Kumbhar (Maharashtra) 56.71; 3. Roshani Yadav (Uttar Pradesh) 57.04

800m: 1. Ashakiran Barla (Jharkhand) 2:08.45 (New Meet Record. Old: 2:08.56, Priscilla Daniel, 2019); 2. Laxmipriya Kisan (Odisha) 2:16.48; 3. Asha (Haryana) 2:16.60.

High Jump: 1. Pavana Nagaraj (Karnataka) 1.68m; 2. Mohur Mukherjee (West Bengal) 1.65; 3. Bidisha Kundu (West Bengal) 1.60m.

Long Jump: 1. Mubssina Mohammed (Lakshwadeep) 5.90m; 2. Divyashree (Tamil Nadu) 5.82; 3. N Lakshanya (Tamil Nadu) 5.74.

5000m Race Walk: 1. Arti (Haryana) 24:33.15; 2. Vaishnavi Negi (Uttarakhand) 25:32.49; 3. Khushbu (Rajasthan) 26:22.03.

Friday’s result

Boys Pole Vault: 1. Kuldeep Kumar (Uttar Pradesh) 4.80m; 2. Banti Rajesh Nath (Madhya Pradesh) 4.50; 3. Dev Meena (Madhya Pradesh) 4.30.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular

Recent Comments